LECCIÓN XIII. LOS PRONOMBRES POSESIVOS

VERBOS

QUERER. | TO WISH. La terminación en er es propia de la 2ª CONJUGACIÓN.

PRESENTE

Yo quiero, tú quieres, él o ella quiere, nosotros o nosotras queremos, vosotros o vosotras queréis, ellos o ellas quieren.

I wish, you wish, he or she wishes, we wish, you wish, they wish.

Desear (1ª conjugación)(to desire) se conjuga de la misma forma que el verbo necesitar.

EXPLICACIÓN

49. MIO, TUYO, SUYO, NUESTRO, VUESTRO.-Change the final o into a, to form the feminine termination.

50. In Spanish, the possessive pronouns always agree with the name of the thing possessed, in gender, number, and case; as,
Nuestra gramática. | Our grammar.
Nuestros libros. | Our books.

51. When used as pronominal adjectives, they precede the noun with wich they agree; and it is to be observed that, in this case, mío, tuyo and suyo dropp their final syllable; as,
Nuestros caballos. | Our horses.
Mi pluma. | My pen.
Tu papel. | Your paper.
Su cuaderno. | His copy-book.
Mis plumas. | My pens.
Tus papeles. | Your papers.
Sus cuadernos. | His copy-books.

52. MIO.- When used in the vocative case – that is, in addressing persons- is placed after the noun governing it; as,
Escribe, hijo mío. | Write, my son.

53. When possessives are used as pronouns, they agree in gender, number and cas with the noun which they represent, and are preceded by the definite article; as,
Tu gramática y la mía. | Your grammar and mine.
De mi muchachos y los tuyos. | From my boys and yours.
Su hermano y el nuestro. | His brother and ours.
Sus zapatos y los nuestros. | His shoes and ours.
Tus caballos y los suyos. | Yours horses and theirs.

54. Possessives are preceded by the neuter article, when they are indefinitely used; as,
Lo mío, lo tuyo, lo suyo. | Mine, yours, his.

55. When the possessive pronoun is connected with the noun by the verb to be, the article is omitted: as,
Este billete es mío. | This note is mine.
Esa carta es tuya. | That letter is yours.
El caballo es suyo. | The horse is his.
Muchachos, ¿es este nuestro libro? | Boys, is this our book?
Niños, ¿es este el vuestro? | Children, is this yours?

56. VUESTRO, VUESTRA.- is chiefly used in addressing persons in very high positions; as,
Señor, vuestra patria lo exige. | Sir, your country demands it.

VOCABULARIO

Mío. | My or mine. (Possessive pronouns)
Tuyo. | Your o yours. (Possessive pronouns)
Suyo. | His, hers or its. (Possessive pronouns)
Nuestro. | Our or ours. (Possessive pronouns)
Vuestro. | Your or yours. (Possessive pronouns)
Útil. | Useful. (Feminine plural determinative article)
Caro. | Dear.. (Adjective, adverb)
Barato. | Cheap. (Adjective, adverb)
Viejo. | Old.. (Adjective)
Joven. | Young. (Adjective)
Rico. | Rich. (Adjective)
Pobre. | Poor. (Adjective)
Amigo. Amiga. | Friend. Friend. (Substantive)
Primo. Prima. | Cousin. Cousin. (Substantive)
Dinero. | Money. (Substantive)
Moneda. | Coin. (Substantive)

REDACCIÓN

– ¿Quiere usted un sombrero? No, señor, quiero un bastón.
Do you wish a hat? No, sir, I wish a cane.

– ¿Quiere usted mucho a su primo? Sí, señor, le quiero mucho.
Do you love your cousin much? Yes, sir, I love him much.

– ¿Quiere usted escribir? No, señor, quiero leer.
Do you wish to write? No, sir, I wish to read.

– ¿Quiere usted hablar con mi hermana? Sí, señor, quiero hablar con ella.
Do you wish to speak with my sister? Yes, sir, I wish to speak to her.

– ¿Quiere usted comprar el caballo de nuestro amigo? Sí señor, quiero comprar el caballo de su amigo.
Do you wish to buy our friend’s horse? Yes, sir, I wish to buy your friend’s horse.

– ¿Quieres escribir a mi hermano? Sí señor, quiero escribirle.
Do you wish to write to my brother? Yes, sir, I wish to write to him.

– ¿Tiene usted mi bastón? No, señor, tengo el mío.
Have you my cane? No, sir, I have mine.

– ¿Tienen ellas nuestros libros? Sí, señor, tienen los de usted.
Have they our books? Yes, sir, they have yours.

– ¿Es viejo su padre de usted? Sí, señor, es un poco viejo.
Is your father old? Yes, sir, he is rather old.

– ¿Es joven su hermana (de usted)? Sí, señor, es muy joven.
Is your sister young? Yes, sir, she is very young.

– ¿Es pobre el comerciante? No, señor, es muy rico.
Is the merchant poor? No, sir, he is very rich.

– ¿Ha escrito usted a su amigo? Sí, señor, he escrito hoy a mi amigo.
Do you write to your friend? Yes, sir, I have written to my friend today.

– ¿Ha hablado usted con su prima? No, señor, he hablado con un amigo.
Have you spoken with your cousin? No, sir, I have spoken with my friend.

– ¿Dónde vive su primo (de usted)? Vive en Filadelfia.
Where does your cousin live? He lives in Philadelphia.

CONVERSACIÓN

  1. ¿Quiere usted vino? No, señor, quiero agua.
  2. ¿Quieren ustedes mis libros? No, señor, queremos los nuestros.
  3. ¿Tienen ellos nuestros periódicos? No, señor, ellos tienen los suyos.
  4. ¿Tiene usted nuestro libro? No, señor, yo tengo el mío.
  5. ¿Tenéis vuestros ejercicios? Sí, señor, tenemos los nuestros.
  6. ¿Es vieja su amiga (de usted)? No, señor, es joven.
  7. ¿Es rico el comerciante? Sí, señor, es muy rico.
  8. ¿Vende barato? No, señor, compra barato pero vende caro.
  9. ¿Es útil la gramática? Sí, señor, es muy útil.
  10. ¿Quiere usted mucho a su hermana? Sí, señor, la quiero mucho.
  11. ¿Quiere usted beber vino? No, señor, quiero beber agua.
  12. ¿Quiere usted comprar un pañuelo de algodón? No, señor, quiero comprar uno de seda.
  13. ¿Quiere usted vivir en nuestra casa? No, señor, quiero vivir en la mia.
  14. ¿Quiere usted estudiar español? Sí, señor, quiero estudiarlo.
  15. ¿Qué quieren ellos? Quieren hablar con usted.
  16. ¿Quiere usted ir (to go) a mi casa el martes? No, señor, quiero ir hoy.
  17. ¿Necesita usted un libro? Sí, señor, necesito el mío.
  18. ¿Necesita usted hablar con el abogado? No, señor, necesito hablar con el comerciante.
  19. ¿Necesita su prima un lápiz? No, señor, ella no lo necesita.
  20. ¿Ha querido usted mucho a su padre? Sí, señor, lo he querido mucho.
  21. ¿Ha necesitado usted dinero? No, señor, he necesitado amigos.
  22. ¿Ha escrito usted sus cartas? Sí, señor, las he escrito.
  23. ¿Ha leido usted los periódicos? Sí, señor, los he leido hoy
  24. ¿Quiere usted hablar español? Sí, señor, quiero aprenderlo.

EJERCICIOS

  1. Do you wish to eat anything? No, sir, I wish to drink.
  2. What do you wish to drink? I wish to drink water.
  3. Do you wish to speak to your brother? Yes, sir, I wish to speak to him.
  4. Do you wish to learn Spanish? No, sir, I wish to learn French.
  5. Do they wish to live in New York? No, sir, they wish to live in Philadelphia.
  6. Have you read your note? Yes, sir, I have read it.
  7. Do you want some wine? No, sir, I want some water.
  8. Do they want my book? Yes sir, they want your book.
  9. Does your brother want to speak to my father? No, sir, he wants to speak to the lawyer.
  10. Did you want my father’s letter? No, sir, we did not want your father’s letter.
  11. Did you want any money? Yes, sir, I wanted some.
  12. Do you wish to live in France? No, sir, I wish to live in the United States.
  13. Do you wish to speak French? No, sir, I wish to speak Spanish.
  14. Do they wish to buy a grammar? No, sir, they wish to buy newspapers.
  15. What do you wish to buy? I wish to buy a handkerchief.
  16. What do you wish to read? I wish to read the English newspapers.
  17. What do you wish to drink? I wish to drink some wine and water.
  18. Want do they want to sell? They want to sell their horses.
  19. When did you receive your letters from England? We have received them today.
  20. When did you dine with your friend? I have dined with them today.
  21. Have you a useful book? Yes, sir, I have a Spanish grammar.
  22. Does the merchat sell his hats dear? No, sir, he sells them very cheap.
  23. Is your friend young? No, sir, he is old.
  24. Are you rich? No, sir, I am poor.
  25. Do you wish to have money? Yes sir, I wish to have it.
  26. Do your friend and cousin live in New York? No, sir, they live in Philadelphia.

En las lecciones de este blog se ha seguido la obra de

Alberto de Tornos “The Combined Spanish Method”. D. APPLETON ~ COMPANY (New York) 1869

Licencia de Creative Commons
Esta entrada está bajo una licencia de Creative Commons Reconocimiento-NoComercial-CompartirIgual 3.0 Unported.

Responder

